Games Teams 
 > Sailing Teams Home > Teams > Past Teams > 2007 US Sailing Team

2007 US Sailing Team

As part of US SAILING's Olympic Sailing Committee (OSC) ongoing mission to facilitate the success of elite performance athletes, the US Sailing Team will choose the top three (3) ranked sailors in each of the 11 classes.  The US Sailing Team annually distinguishes the top three ranked sailors in each of the nine classes (11 events) selected for the next Olympic Games. The classes selected for the 2008 Olympic Games are: Finn (men); 470 (men and women); Laser (men); Laser Radial (women); Neil Pryde RS:X (men and women); 49er, Star, Tornado (all open); and Yngling (women).


The 2008 Olympic Games are scheduled for August 8-24 in Beijing, China. The Olympic Regatta will be held in Qingdao, a coastal city located 430 miles east of Beijing.


The members of the 2007 US Sailing Team are listed below in ranking order one through three.  Team members are named based on the 2007 Ranking Systems.
(This list includes the athlete's name, hometown and yacht club.) 

49er -- Skipper and Crew (Skiff)
Morgan Larson
Pete Spaulding
Capitola, CA
Santa Cruz, CA
Santa Cruz YC/St. Francis YC
New York Yacht Club

Tim Wadlow

Chris Rast

Beverly, MA

Wake Forest, NC

Southwestern Yacht Club


Dalton Bergan
Zack Maxam
Seattle, WA
Coronado, CA
Seattle Yacht Club
Coronado YC/San Diego Yacht Club
470 MEN -- Skipper and Crew (Men's Two-Person Dinghy)
Mikee Anderson-Mitterling
David Hughes
Coronado, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego YC/Coronado YC

Harraseeket YC

Stuart McNay
Graham Biehl
Boston, MA
San Diego, CA
Beverly YC/Yale Corinthian YC
San Diego Yacht Club

Justin Law

Michael Miller

Newport Beach, CA
Charleston, SC
Newport Harbor Yacht Club
470 WOMEN -- Skipper and Crew (Women's Two-Person Dinghy)
Amanda Clark
Sarah Mergenthaler
Shelter Island, NY
Harvey Cedars, NJ
Shelter Island YC/New York Yacht Club
Surf City Yacht Club

Erin Maxwell
Isabelle Kinsolving

Stonington, CT

New York, NY

Ram Island YC/Mudheads Sailing Assoc.

Fishers Island Yacht Club

Molly Carapiet

Molly O'Bryan

Belvedere, CA

San Diego, CA

St. Francis YC/San Francisco YC

San Diego YC/Kaneohe YC

FINN (Heavyweight Dinghy)

Zach Railey

Clearwater, FL St. Francis Yacht Club
Geoff Ewenson Annapolis, MD Annapolis YC/Storm Trysail Club

Darrell Peck

Gresham, OR

Vancouver Lake Sailing Club

LASER (Men's One Person Dinghy)

Brad Funk

Clearwater, FL Clearwater Yacht Club
Andrew Campbell San Diego, CA San Diego Yacht Club
Kurt Taulbee Dunedin, FL Clearwater Yacht Club

LASER RADIAL (Women's One Person Dinghy)

Anna Tunnicliffe Ft. Lauderdale, FL North Cape YC/Norfolk Yacht & Country

Paige Railey

Clearwater, FL St. Francis Yacht Club
Sarah Lihan Ft. Lauderdale, FL Lauderdale Yacht Club

RS:X MEN (Men's Windsurfer)

Ben Barger St. Petersburg, FL  
Bob Willis Chicago, IL Columbia Yacht Club
Mark Powell Coconut Grove, FL US Sailing Center Miami

RS:X WOMEN (Women's Windsurfer)

Nancy Rios Cocoa, FL Banana River Windsurfing Resort
Karen Marriott Lakewood, CO  
Farrah Hall Annapolis, MD  

STAR -- Skipper and Crew (Men's Keelboat)

John Dane

Austin Sperry

Gulfport, MS

Gulfport, MS


Andy MacDonald

Brian Faith

Laguna Beach, CA

Miami, FL

Newport Harbor Yacht Club


John MacCausland

Bob Schofield

Medford, NJ

Annapolis, MD

Cooper River Yacht Club

TORNADO  --  Skipper and Crew (Multihull)

John Lovell
Charlie Ogletree

New Orleans, LA
Kemah, TX

Southern Yacht Club
Newport Harbor YC / Houston YC

Robbie Daniel
Hunter Stunzi

Clearwater, FL
Marblehead, MA



Don Thinschmidt

Drew Wierda

Holland, MI

Miami, FL

Chicago Yacht Club

Card Sound Sailing Club/Chicago YC

YNGLING -- Skipper and Crew (Women's Keelboat)

Sally Barkow

Carrie Howe

Debbie Capozzi

Chenequa, WI
Grosse Pointe, MI
Bayport, NY

Pine Lake Yacht Club

Grosse Pointe Yacht Club

Sayville Yacht Club

Carol Cronin

Kim Couranz

Margaret Bonds Podlich

Jamestown, RI

Annapolis, MD

Annapolis, MD

Sail Newport

Severn Sailing Association

Severn Sailing Association